Skip to content

NC Local Food Councils


More than 35 food councils now exist across North Carolina covering 40 of the 100 counties. These food councils are mostly organized by county, and some are more regional.

Local Food Councils by Region:

 Charlotte Area || Northeast  || Southeast ||  Triad || Triangle || Western

Charlotte Region

Northeast Region

    • Beaufort – Beaufort Heal Collaborative
    • Edgecombe & Nash Counties – Just Foods
    • Halifax – Roanoke Valley Local Foods Roundtable
    • Pitt – Pitt County Farm & Food Council
    • Warren – Warren County Local Foods Promotion Council
    • Wilson – Wilson County Food Council Task Force

Interest in Food Council Development

  • Craven County

Southeast Region

Interest in Food Council Development

    • Robeson

Triad Region

Triangle Region

Western Region

Interest in Food Council Development

    • Catawba County
    • Henderson County


Food councils that are currently inactive

  • Anson, Montgomery, Stanly Counties – Upper PeeDee Farm and Food Council
  • Brunswick County Food Council
  • Dare – Outer Banks Local Food Council
  • Johnston – Johnston County Farm and Food Council
  • Western NC Food Policy Council